Business Item Item: 2011-318

# Other Business

Metropolitan Council meeting date: December 14, 2011

#### **ADVISORY INFORMATION**

Date: December 1, 2011

**Subject: Appointments to the Transportation Advisory Board** 

District(s), Member(s): All

Policy/Legal Reference: Minnesota Statute 473.146

Staff Prepared/Presented: Susan Haigh, Chair

Division/Department: Chair's Office

## **Proposed Action**

That the Metropolitan Council approve the following appointments to the Transportation Advisory Board: **GERRY BUTCHER**—District A; **TOM HEFFELFINGER**—District B; **JENNIFER JANOVY**—District C; **KENYA MCKNIGHT**—District D; **AARON ISAACS and DAVID VAN HATTUM**—Transit; and **ETHAN FAWLEY**—Non-motorized Transportation.

### **Background**

The Transportation Advisory Board (TAB) was established by the Metropolitan Council pursuant to MN Statutes 473.146. The TAB's purpose is to advise and assist the Council, the Minnesota Dept. of Transportation, and all political subdivisions in accomplishing the responsibilities designated by state and federal law and regulation with regard to transportation planning and programming for the Twin Cities metropolitan area.

The TAB is a 33-member body composed of elected officials, representatives of government agencies involved in transportation issues, citizen members, and members who represent public transit, the freight industry and non-motorized transportation. The Metropolitan Council appoints 12 members – eight citizen members, two members representing public transit, one member representing non-motorized transportation, and one member of the Metropolitan Council. In addition, the Council is responsible for appointing the TAB chair from among the advisory body membership. TAB members serve staggered two-year terms.

#### Rationale

Terms for the district A, B, C, D, transit (2 seats) and non-motorized transportation positions expire January 2012 and need to be filled.

A news release was issued in September seeking applicants for Districts A, B, and C, one transit seat and the non-motorized transportation seat. The decision was made to not seek applications for the District D and one transit seat as the individuals holding those positions (Kenya McKnight and David Van Hattum, respectively) were appointed just one month earlier to fill vacancies resulting from mid-term resignations. Instead, these two individuals would automatically be included for reappointment to full two-year terms.

Nineteen applications were received for the five advertised positions and all applicants were invited to interview. Council members Elkins, Duininck and Schreiber served as the interview panel and 16 applicants participated in the interviews, which were held on Monday, November 14. Following the interviews, the panel met to develop their appointment recommendations. The panel reviewed application materials, public meeting comments and input previously received from Council members. The panel consulted with Chair Haigh and their appointment recommendations are noted above. If appointed, each individual will serve two-year terms ending January 2014.

Funding - N/A Known Support / Opposition - N/A