Business Item Item: 2011-235

Other Business

Meeting date: August 24, 2011

ADVISORY INFORMATION

Date: August 11, 2011

Subject: Appointments to the Transportation Advisory Board

District(s), Member(s): All

Policy/Legal Reference: Minnesota Statute 473.146

Staff Prepared/Presented: Susan Haigh, Chair

Division/Department: Chair's Office

Proposed Action

That the Metropolitan Council approve the following appointments to the Transportation Advisory Board: **KENYA MCKNIGHT**—District D; **ASHRAF (A.J.) SIDDIQUI**—District E; **MARGARET DONAHOE**—District G; **KARL DROTNING**—District H; and **DAVID VAN HATTUM**—Transit.

Background

The Transportation Advisory Board (TAB) was established by the Metropolitan Council pursuant to MN Statutes 473.146. The TAB's purpose is to advise and assist the Council, the Minnesota Dept. of Transportation, and all political subdivisions in accomplishing the responsibilities designated by state and federal law and regulation with regard to transportation planning and programming for the Twin Cities metropolitan area.

The TAB is a 33-member body composed of elected officials, representatives of government agencies involved in transportation issues, citizen members, and members who represent public transit, the freight industry and non-motorized transportation. The Metropolitan Council appoints 12 members – eight citizen members, two members representing public transit, one member representing non-motorized transportation, and one member of the Metropolitan Council. In addition, the Council is responsible for appointing the TAB chair from among the advisory body membership. TAB members serve staggered two-year terms.

Rationale

Terms for the district E, G and H positions expired January 2011 and need to be filled. The district D and transit positions are open due to mid-term resignations.

A news release was issued in March for these positions. Twenty-one applications were received and forwarded to Council members and staff for review and consideration. Following the initial review, the decision was made to form a panel to interview selected applicants. Council members Elkins, Duininck and Schreiber served as the interview panel and 11 applicants were invited to interview. Following the interviews, the panel met to develop their appointment recommendations. The panel reviewed application materials, public meeting comments and input previously received from Council members. The panel consulted with Chair Haigh and their appointment recommendations are noted above. The district D and transit appointees will complete terms ending January 2012. The district E, G and H appointees will complete terms ending January 2013.

Funding - N/A
Known Support / Opposition - N/A