Other Business

Meeting date: June 22, 2011

ADVISORY INFORMATION	
Date:	June 16, 2011
Subject:	Appointments to the Transportation Accessibility Advisory Committee
District(s), Member(s):	All
Policy/Legal Reference:	MN Statutes 473.386 and TAAC Bylaws
Staff Prepared/Presented:	Sue Haigh, Chair
Division/Department:	Chair's Office

Proposed Action

That the Metropolitan Council approve the following appointments to the Transportation Accessibility Advisory Committee: **RON BISS**—Chair; **JOHN LUND**—District A; **KIM KANG**—District B; **JOHN SCHATZLEIN**—District C; **CHAD MCGUIRE**—District D; **JAMES WILLIAMS**—District E; **BRUCE LATTU**—District F; **NICHOLE VILLAVICENCIO**—District G; and **DARRELL PAULSEN**—District H.

Background

The TAAC was created by the Legislature as a committee of users and advocates for the disability community to advise the Metropolitan Council on management policies for special transportation services.

TAAC membership includes a chair and eight citizen representatives appointed by the Metropolitan Council, two members appointed by the Minnesota State Council on Disability, two by the Minnesota Senior Federation, two by the Minnesota Consortium for Citizens with Disabilities, and one by the Minnesota Chapter of AARP. At least half the members must be ADA certified and active users of ground transportation in the metropolitan area.

The chair and eight citizen members serve at the pleasure of the Metropolitan Council.

Rationale

The chair and eight district positions are up for appointment due to term expirations.

Fourteen individuals applied for the nine positions. To ensure compliance with the ADA certification membership criteria, the certification status of both the applicants and agency representatives were reviewed by Metro Mobility staff. Council members then, with the assistance of Metro Mobility staff, evaluated the applications and identified the individuals they wished to recommend for appointment.

At this time the Council is being asked to approve the appointments of the chair and District A through H representatives as noted above.

Funding – N/A

Known Support / Opposition – N/A