#### Item: 2010-118

# **Other Business**

Meeting date: March 24, 2010

ADVISORY INFORMATION	
Date:	March 5, 2010
Subject:	Appointments to the Transportation Advisory Board
District(s), Member(s):	All
Policy/Legal Reference:	Minnesota Statutes 473.146
Staff Prepared/Presented:	Peter Bell, Chair
Division/Department:	Chair's Office

## **Proposed Action**

That the Metropolitan Council approve the following appointments to the Transportation Advisory Board: ANDREW REINHARDT—Precinct A; THOMAS HEFFELFINGER—Precinct B; JAMES MEYERS— Precinct C; CHUCK HAIK—Precinct D; MATTHEW CRAIG and RICHARD MUSSELL—Transit; and DAVID GEPNER—Non-motorized Transportation.

### Background

- The Transportation Advisory Board (TAB) was established by the Metropolitan Council pursuant to MN Statutes 473.146. The TAB's purpose is to advise and assist the Council, the Minnesota Dept. of Transportation, and all political subdivisions in accomplishing the responsibilities designated by state and federal law and regulation with regard to transportation planning and programming for the Twin Cities metropolitan area.
- The TAB is a 33-member body composed of elected officials, representatives of government agencies involved in transportation issues, citizen members, and members who represent public transit, the freight industry and non-motorized transportation. The Metropolitan Council appoints 12 members—8 citizen members, 2 members representing public transit, 1 member representing non-motorized transportation, and one member of the Metropolitan Council. In addition, the Council is responsible for appointing the TAB chair from among the advisory body membership.
- TAB members serve staggered two-year terms.

#### Rationale

- Terms of the following seven TAB positions expired Jan. 2010 and need to be filled: TAB precincts A, B, C and D (Metropolitan Council districts 1-8), 2 at-large positions representing transit and one at-large position representing non-motorized transportation.
- A news release was issued in December 2009 for these positions. Fifteen applications were received and forwarded to Council members for review and consideration.
- Following consultation between Council members and staff, the seven individuals listed under *Proposed Action* are being recommended for appointment at this time. Four of the individuals (Meyers, Haik, Mussell and Gepner) are incumbents seeking reappointment and three (Reinhardt, Heffelfinger, and Craig) are seeking appointment for the first time.
- If appointed, all would have terms that expire January 2012.

Funding – N/A

### Known Support / Opposition - N/A