METROPOLITAN COUNCIL 390 Robert Street North, Saint Paul, Minnesota 55101-1805

RESOLUTION NO. 2008-36

RESOLUTION DESIGNATING REGULAR MEETING DAYS FOR THE METROPOLITAN COUNCIL'S TRANSPORTATION COMMITTEE AND AUTHORIZING THE COMMITTEE TO CONDUCT CLOSED MEETINGS

WHEREAS, Article III, Paragraph A.2 of the Bylaws of the Metropolitan Council states that "regular meetings of the standing committees shall be set by the Council by resolution"; and

WHEREAS, section 13D.04 of the Minnesota Open Meeting Law requires each public body to keep on file at its primary offices a schedule of the regular meetings of the public body; and

WHEREAS, the Minnesota Open Meeting Law and case law permit a public body to close a meeting to discuss attorney-client privileged matters and for other specified purposes; and

WHEREAS, the Metropolitan Council's standing committees preliminarily discuss business and policy matters and make recommendations to the Council's governing body.

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that upon approval of this resolution:

- 1. The regular meeting days for the Transportation Committee shall be the second and fourth Monday of each month.
- 2. Unless otherwise determined by the Council, the regular meetings of the Transportation Committee from January through June shall be held at 390 Robert Street North in Saint Paul, Minnesota, commencing at 4:00 p.m., and regular meetings of the Transportation Committee from July through December shall be held at 560 6th Avenue North in Minneapolis, Minnesota, commencing at 4:00 p.m.
- 3. Subject to the requirements of the Minnesota Open Meeting Law, the time and place of these regular meetings may be adjusted as determined by the Committee Chair and as specified in the notice for each meeting.
- 4. When appropriate and necessary and consistent with the requirements of the Minnesota Open Meeting Law and other applicable law, the Transportation Committee may close any of its meetings to discuss attorney-client privileged matters and other matters for which meetings may be closed.

Adopted this 10th day of December, 2008.

Peter Bell, Chair

Pat Curtiss, Recording Secretary