of the Metropolitan Council of the Twin Cities

ACTION TRANSMITTAL

No. 2011-36

DATE: March 9, 2011

TO: Transportation Advisory Board

FROM: Bill Hargis, TAB Chair

SUBJECT: Appointment of TAB members to standing subcommittees.

MOTION: That the TAB approve the proposed appointment of members to the TAB

Policy and TAB Programming Committees.

BACKGROUND AND PURPOSE OF ACTION: The TAB Bylaws establish three standing subcommittees, the Policy Committee, Programming Committee and Executive Committee. All TAB members except the TAB Chair are assigned to either the Policy or Programming Committee by the Board Chair subject to approval by the full Board. Following the elections last November, several new members were appointed to the Board. The Board Chair and Executive Committee felt now was a good time to make appointments to the Policy and Programming Committees.

At the direction of the TAB Executive Committee, staff polled TAB members in February as to their subcommittee preference. Staff received a number of responses which were forwarded to the Board Chair. Based on the responses and the mix of members on both committees described in the Bylaws, Chair Hargis forwards the attached committee assignments to the Board for approval, pursuant to the Bylaws. (see reverse)

Although five vacancies remain on the Board, the executive Committee felt it was important to seat new members on committees as soon as possible to maintain the flow of business. The Programming Committee has important work in the coming months including adoption of the 2011 regional solicitation package and adoption of the 2012-2015 Transportation Improvement Program. Although the Policy Committee is shorthanded, the Bylaws provide that a quorum can be reached among the currently appointed members. The Policy Committee membership will be filled in the coming weeks.

ROUTING

ТО	ACTION REQUESTED	DATE COMPLETED
Transportation Advisory Board	Review & Approve	

TAB Policy Committee	TAB Programming Committee	
(17 members)	(15 members)	
Randy Maluchnik – Carver County	Andy Westerberg – Anoka County	
Paul Krause – Dakota County	Tony Bennett – Ramsey County	
Andrew Reinhardt – Citizen A	Jan Callison – Hennepin County	
Thomas Heffelfinger – Citizen B	Jon Ulrich – Scott County	
James Meyers – Citizen C	Dennis Hegberg – Washington County	
Vacant – Citizen D	Bart Ward – Citizen E	
Ken Johnson – Citizen H	Jill Smith – Citizen G	
Vacant – Metropolitan Council	Scott McBride – MN/DOT	
Lisa Peilen – MAC	David Thornton – MPCA	
Will Rossbach – Maplewood	Robert Lilligren – Minneapolis	
Russ Stark – St. Paul	Jim Hovland – Edina	
Bethany Tjornhom – Chanhassen	Becky Petryk – Hugo	
Vacant – Metro Cities	Julia Whalen – Champlin	
Vacant – Metro Cities	Dick Swanson – Blaine	
Vacant – Transit	Richard Mussell – Transit	
Ron Have – Freight		
David Gepner – Non-motorized		